That Moment


Life sucks sometimes

 

 

That moment when your good friend tells you some news about their life and your heart is sad because you thought their news would actually soon be your own news.

That moment when you doubt whether the amount of joy they are feeling is ever something you can feel yourself.

That moment when insecurity begins to overwhelm your mind and consume your thoughts, not allowing you freedom to breathe or escape, not even a little.

That moment when you read people wrong and you get hurt causing you to realize just how fragile you really are.

That moment when all hope seems to be gone, and you don’t know where to go.

That moment when life sucks.

THAT is the moment where I am right now.

THOSE are the events that literally have happened within the last 48 hours.

THIS is the time that I honestly am drawing a blank…my back up plans for situations occurring in my life did not cover this.

I am at a loss, and quite honestly it is frightening. I do not like it. Not one single bit.

But something that I am realizing, again literally within the last 15 minutes, is that I have no control over my life. I cannot choose the series of events that occur, and I cannot make people think, act, or feel a certain way. I am not the one who decides these things. Not even a little.

God is.

It’s hard. And every once in a while daily I forget that He is the one in control. He is the one with the plan, not me. Even when I do not like what happens, it is up to Him, and He promises to never leave me. He says He will work all things together for good for those who love Him and have been called according to His purpose. I know I have a purpose found through Him and I know it will all work out for good.

In these moments when doubts invade and life is not how I want it to be working out, I have to remind muself that even when things hurt and are confusing I am loved and cherished by a King. A King who adores me and delights in my heart and wants me to pursue His own heart with disciplined delight.

It is during these times that when my own ideas and back-up plans have all failed that He calls me to seek Him out. It is now that my heart finds rest in His own, even when life sucks sometimes.

 

Speak up! Have you ever had a situation in life not go that way you wanted it to? Has your life ever sucked sometimes? Share your story!

4 thoughts on “That Moment

  1. I love the term “disciplined delight”. Hebrews 12:1-11 is my go-to for “life sucks” situations. It’s a reminder that God is making me more like him through these situations– that I will have a harvest of righteousness from being trained by his discipline.

    Yesterday was actually a day that just wasn’t fun. Nothing big and crushing, just little things that didn’t go how I wanted and I was getting annoyed. Then I was reading about Saeed (the American pastor who was sentenced to 8 years in Evin Prison in Iran). He’s bleeding internally from severe beatings and this is only month 1. Suddenly, my life isn’t so bad.

    • Thanks for your thoughts Moriah! I definitely agree with Habrews 12:1-11, especially since that is the passage of Scripture I researched fr my NT book study.

      You’re right, reading about Saeed puts our lives into perspective. It’s also a huge encouragement to my heart that no matter how “little” my struggles might appear, God comforts me the same that He does to those who have the entire world falling in on them.

  2. Oh buddy. I’m so sorry to hear that life currently sucks. I find myself in that position a lot of late. Just when I think to myself, “Finally, something is going right. No more cultural lessons, no more language screw-ups, no more technological difficulties, no more immigration red tape, no more surprise proctoring of scholarship exams”… something else goes wrong. And I, like you, get to experience the painful joy of learning that, indeed, I am not the master of my fate or the captain of my ship, but rather a slave, bought at a high price, by a master who is good, faithful, and abounding in loving-kindness. When I stop focusing on how everything is going wrong and how it feels like I’m being attacked on all sides, I remember that the same master knows what I need and will not withhold good things from me because himself is the best good he can give me. Sometimes, life just sucks. It’s the result of living in a broken world. Fortunately, we are no longer bound to the broken world. Our fate is no longer tied to its. So, even though, it seems like there is no hope and like we will be weary – physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually – until the day we die, we can trust in one simple truth. Trust… well, more like cling to it like it’s a life-vest and we’ve just been submerged under a tsunami – believing with every fiber of our being that it will pull us back up to the surface because that’s all the belief we can muster in our moment of total desperation. God is good. So, life sucks, but God is good and he does not cast off men forever. Though he brings grief, he will show compassion – so great is his unfailing love. He does not willing bring affliction or grief to the children of men. I miss you, my friend, and I hope that soon you will see the redemptive plan behind the discipline and general suckitude.

    • “Though he brings grief, he will show compassion – so great is his unfailing love.”

      Yes. That! My heart is beyond encouraged by your reminder that I am not steering my own ship. Thank you. God is so very good, and He shows us compassion and love that never wavers when we do. Thank you for sharing.

      I miss you as well, I am praying for you while you are overseas spreading the beautiful fragrance of Christ’s love to all you encounter.

Thoughts

