Overwhelmed.


This post was meant to be published January 1, 2012…however, I am a goof and when I went to change the year, I forgot to change the date…so this was not published when I intended it, thus you are getting it now. Hope you enjoy!

Overwhelmed.

I’ve never really liked that word. Ever. It reminds me of weakness. It whispers in my ear that I am unable, not strong enough, will never be good enough because obviously there is a point where it’s just too much. I don’t like feeling [or thinking for that matter] that I can’t do something. It unnerves me. When someone tells me I can’t do something, I look them in the eye and make up my mind that I will do it, or at least try! You see, I have this great problem of being way over competitive. It’s just who I am. Honest. Everything in my life is a competition, and I am always trying to win. If I lose… I lose really badly. I hate losing, it’s one of the worst feelings in the world according to me. So, when I feel overwhelmed I feel like I have lost. I feel defeated, because quite honestly, I am. When I get overwhelmed, it’s usually because I can’t finish everything, my eyes were bigger than my stomach, or however the saying goes.

But the other day I saw a tweet that read, “I like overwhelmed. Overwhelmed is good! Not overwhelmed is bad.” Honestly, I kind of wanted to scream…and I may or may not have talked sternly to my computer screen…

You see, I didn’t understand how being overwhelmed could ever be good. I mean, it’s terrible really! You can’t finish everything, and I always want to finish what I started. It’s been ingrained in my head since…well, forever. “If you’re going to do a job, do it well and finish it completely.” It’s what my mom always told me when I was doing chores. She always said it would be better left undone if you didn’t plan on doing it the best you could the first time. That idea has stuck with me my entire life…do a job, and do it the best you can! Don’t settle for mediocre. So, when I feel overwhelmed, it makes me think that I didn’t do the best I could, that I can’t finish what I started, and therefore I have failed.

But that tweet has haunted me for the past few days. I wondered what kind of audacity the guy had to have in order to make such a claim. What kind of great life must he lead in order to think being overwhelmed is a good thing! I mean really, this guy must never do anything! He must not be involved at church, he must not have a family or friends, he must not work. I mean, pretty much anything you do aside from simply living, constitutes as at least busy which is the first step to being overwhelmed. But then a thought popped into my head. One I wasn’t exactly excited for at first. But then the truth of it started to seep into my bones. The thought you wonder?

You can’t do it all. That’s why Christ came.

I fought this thought at first. I mean, I know it’s true, but I also know that the Holy Spirit dwells in me so therefore I have the power of Christ in me. But the thought kept on coming. I kept on being reminded that I couldn’t do everything on my own, and that I didn’t have to. When I finally accepted this line of thinking, peace, joy, sheer excitement started to pour over my being. For the first time in a long while I realized that I don’t have to be bogged down by this world. Christ came to set me free. He came to help me when I feel helpless. He says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:28, 29 If there’s anything I’ve been over the last few weeks, it’s weary. I really don’t think I’ve ever been so tired in my life, and I have been on Christmas break! But the Lord finally broke through my busy heart, the one that so often runs to other things first before Him.

You see, God really revealed that I don’t have to do, or be, or accomplish anything because He has already done that for me. I can rest in His arms, and trust that He cares [1 Peter 5:7].

So maybe overwhelmed isn’t bad. Because for me, to my heart, it’s a reminder that He is here. He is able. He cares. And the most of all, He loves me.

Thoughts? What have you been overwhelmed with lately? How has the Lord been speaking to your heart?

Thoughts

