Breathe.


Breathe.

I forget to breathe a lot. No, I am not joking. There are times that I honestly stop breathing, whether it’s because suspense in a movie, fear of being too loud while my roommate is sleeping, I’m trying to sneak up on someone, or I just plain forget…It just happens to me. The times I notice it the most, and the times that I literally have to remind myself to breathe […in and out, in and out…] are when I get overwhelmed. I’m not sure if all professors, but in my short career as a college student, every few weeks before finals it’s as if they plot together and decide to each give us a work load the size of a small hippo. It’s ridiculous, yet hilarious all at the same time. Okay, it’s really not that funny…

I tend to plan things out via lists. And when I started doing this the past few weeks, I realized just how much I had to do in only about 2 weeks…wow. Let’s just say I may or may not have stopped breathing for a moment. [and many moments thereafter]

My life motto is, “Enjoy life. Breathe and smile.” I think life is meant to be enjoyed and not so busy/full of stuff, that we forget the little things that make life worthwhile. I have had to remind myself of this truth a lot lately, and I’ve had to stop dwelling on how much I need to get done and whether or not I can get it all accomplished. Rather, I’ve had to work as hard as I can, and trust that God has a plan, and that He’s right here with me.

So rather than reminding myself to breathe because I’m so overwhelmed [and you kind of have to breathe in order to survive…] I’m remembering to stop and take deep breathes. Marveling in the wonders the Lord has placed in my life-even school and homework [because after all, it is a huge blessing to have the opportunity of going to college!]

“Cast all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

Enjoy life. Breathe and smile.

How has God been showing you that you need to slow down and rest in the comfort of His steady arms?

Thoughts

