Patience


Well, I’m changing things up again. However, I really think you’re going to enjoy the changes. I am going to be writing three days a week, rather than two. Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, prepare to have an email from me about some of the things that are going on in my life/my thoughts…These three post days are going to be themed.

Mondays are called ‘Monday Memoirs’ I am going to write about a character from the Bible, BUT it’s not going to be your normal “here’s this character and what they did while on earth and here’s how it applies to our lives not.” It’s not going to be quite that…um…well, boring. It’s going to be from their perspective…think, “in their shoes.”

Wednesdays are going to be about one word. Every Wednesday prepare to hear my thoughts on one word. Maybe it’s a word that God has been teaching me about, maybe it’s a word I hate, maybe it’s a word I’m confused about. Whatever the word, whatever the case, I need you to help me out with the post! It’s going to be my thoughts about this word, but I need to hear YOUR thoughts about that word too! So prepare to comment and share what you think that word means in the comments every Wednesday.

Fridays are going to be about all of the cool things I stumbled upon during the week that I think are worth sharing. Tune in Fridays and discover “Friday favorites, fears, findings, and frustrations.” This day is going to be a lot of fun, so make sure and check it out!

Anyways, it’s Wednesday, so today’s word is: Patience

I have a love hate relationship with patience. You see, if/when you ask God to give you patience, He doesn’t just hand it to you on a silver platter and BAM, you’re the most patient person on the planet…Actually, it’s quite the opposite. You see, He hands you situations to be patient in, not just patience. He allows opportunities for you to practice patience. [Practice makes perfect…right?] So, the saying, “be careful what you wish for” stands true here as well. If you want to be patient and not be frustrated every time your little brother interrupts you when you’re reading…well, get ready to be interrupted. If you want to become more patient, get ready for some backed up, bumper to bumper traffic. [*disclaimner: I am not saying that when you pray for patience, these 2 things will happen, I was just making a point.]

If you want patience, be prepared to work for it.

I tend to think I’m a pretty patient person for the most part, but there are a few things/people/situations that really test me. It’s in those areas that I have found the Lord really stretching me and prompting me to become more patient. It’s not easy, but my oh my is it ever worth it.

I desire patience in my life because it’s part of the fruit of the Spirit. In order for me to become like my Savior, I need to be patient. Does this mean I am always going to be patient, no, but it sure does mean I can try.

Something else, patience is NOT just outward. I know a lot of people who appear super patient on the outside, but on the inside they are angry and frustrated at you. You know what I mean? I’m sure we’ve all been in those situations…someone is getting under our skin, but rather than show it, we just talk to them/belittle them in our heads. We are all kinds of disrespectful towards people in our heads quite often. Honestly, this is probably the area that I used to [and still do] struggle with the most. I always appeared patient and okay on the outside, nodding, smiling, and being nice, but inwardly I was tearing the poor person to shreds. This is the area that God keeps on giving me opportunities to work on, and it’s getting a whole lot better!

So, patience is not just on the outside, it needs to stem from your heart, from the inside, from the Spirit. Honestly, He is the only one who can allow you to have complete patience with people, so why not ask Him to help you. When you start to belittle the person inwardly, quietly calm yourself and ask the Spirit for help, after all He wants to help you, so why not let Him?

I encourage you to ask the Lord for patience, but be ready for many opportunities to practice being patient.

“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.” -Ephesians 4:2

“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience.” –Colossians 3:12

“But as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way: by great endurance, in afflictions, hardships, calamities, beatings, imprisonments, riots, labors, sleepless nights, hunger; by purity, knowledge, patience, kindness, the Holy Spirit, genuine love…” –2 Corinthians 6:3-10

Thoughts

