{From the Archives} Here’s Why [Christian Phrases Style]


I’m just gonna say it…Christians say some stupid things. We think we are being helpful, wise, spiritual, encouraging, and Godly, but in reality we are sticking our big feet in our big mouth.

There are quite a few phrases within the Church that get under my skin. I suspect you feel similarly. Here are the Top 10 Christian phrases I would rather not hear again…starting with…

1. “I’ll pray for you.”  This is a little tricky, because I don’t want to judge someone when they say this. I really want to believe that when someone says this, they will actually pray. However, I suspect that Christians throw this out there to either make someone feel good or because it’s become a habit for them to say.

Side note: I take this phrase very seriously and I want you to know that when I say that I will pray for you, I will.

2. “Quiet time.” To be completely honest-I detest this phrase. It does not exist anywhere in the Bible (the concept does to some point, perhaps), but we throw this around like it’s law. Always asking “did you have your ‘quiet time’ today?” “Don’t forget your ‘quiet time.’ ” It just falls out of our mouths. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s important to set aside a time to be quiet before the Lord, but what about the crazy times, the exhausting times, the confusing times-pretty much throughout our day and throughout our life?

3. “I don’t feel led.” Just say what you mean. More often than not, it’s not that we “don’t feel led,” but rather, we just don’t want to. Instead of being honest, we blame God, as if He was directing us elsewhere. Don’t point fingers, just take responsibility and be honest with people.

4. “It was the Lord’s will…” when something fails. This is not always the case, but I’ve watched as this phrase has become an all encompassing excuse for irresponsibility or sin. Perhaps a ministry, or church, or (worst of all) a marriage failed because responsible parties allowed it to fail. Perhaps it really wasn’t “the Lord’s will.”

5. “Walk with the Lord.” I don’t dislike this slogan, so much as I think it has become cliché. Also, we say this in front of nonbelievers constantly and they must be wondering, “What does that even mean?”

6. “Invite Jesus into your heart.” I don’t despise this Christian-ism, however, I think it’s not entirely scriptural. This phrase fails to communicate the fact that a life devoted to Christ is our goal–total and complete surrender, nothing less.

7. “Jesus loves you.” It is completely 100% true. He does love you…and me. But a bumper sticker or saying it in sarcasm isn’t the way to communicate His love. Action is.

8. “Lord be here” or “Holy Spirit come” when we are praying.  As a follower of Christ, we have the Holy Spirit living inside of us, and God has promised us that He will never leave us nor forsake us. So to pray for Him to be with us seems to be a little overkill, or worse- that we don’t believe He already is.

9. “Give it to God” – While as a believer, I do lay my burdens at the feet of God in prayer, I often hear this when I open up and go to a brother/sister in Christ over some major problem in my life that I can’t solve. “Give it to God” has become a Christian-y non-answer that people who have no advice give to get off easy. I’d rather just hear someone say “I wish I had an answer for you, but I don’t. The best you can do is pray, and I’ll pray with you.”

10. “The Proverbs 31 Woman.” I have a beef with the “Proverbs 31 woman.” Well, not her exactly, but the pressure those passages place on women. The amount of pressure this passage puts on women is ridiculous. It makes us feel like we have to be married with kids in order to be considered a woman of God. It’s just not true. You can be single and serving the Lord just as well (if not better) than if you’re married.

I know you have some to add and I can’t wait to hear them! What Christian phrases would you rather not hear again? What Christian-isms really get under your skin?

2 thoughts on “{From the Archives} Here’s Why [Christian Phrases Style]

  1. This post was great! I have the same issue with “I’ll pray for you” or the more succinct “*praying*”. When it’s an online request, I like to actually write out a prayer. I don’t take it lightly!

    My other beef is when people who don’t necessarily accept Christ as their Lord and savior ask YOU to pray for them. Ummm, hello…. don’t you think God is trying to reach you when you feel called to ask for prayer with a belief that it may work? Reach back!

    Thanks for the good read :)

    • Katie,
      I’m glad you liked the post! I completely understand with the whole “will you pray for me.” It actually kind of saddens my heart more than anything because they know they need prayer, but they just aren’t sure if they want a part of this life. So, even though it’s sad, I pray for whatever they need, but then go home and pray for them to turn to God.
      Great input. have a good one.

Thoughts

