Weakness


About two years ago I read a book…I cannot, for the life of me, remember the name of this book. However, a quote from this book has stuck with me ever since. It goes something like this:

“When you don’t feel like praying, that’s when you need to get on your knees. When you don’t feel like reading your Bible, get to reading! It’s in these moments that God reveals Himself most clearly.”

This quote reminds me that I am weak. That I don’t always want to do what is beneficial for me. This reminds me that in my weakest moments as a believer God’s love, His Word, Himself, is my unwavering security. I know this is true because of the Cross.

I’m reminded daily how weak I am. Even though my security and strength is found in Christ, I still waiver. Life is hard. It isn’t a piece of cake. Struggles, trials, and temptations await us [especially as Believers] at every turn of life. But what do we do when we realize this? Do we simply give up, stop trying and forfeit? No.

“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” –Romans 5:3-5

Like the quote from above said, when we don’t feel like praying or reading our Bibles, that’s when we need to do so the most! God is our source of strength. He is the only one who can help us during times of weakness. Don’t turn to the world and it’s so called “wisdom.” Rather, run to God, ask Him for clarity and guidance.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” –2 Corinthians 12:9

When have you felt weak? How have you handled it? Have you ever wanted to not seek out God, but rather ways of the world for comfort in these moments?

Thoughts

