Complaining.


Complaining. I just don’t get it.

Don’t think I’m pulling an, “I’m holier than thou art.” That’s not the case. At all. I complain.

Often.

But every time I catch myself complaining, I always find myself wondering, “what is this even going to get me?”

I’m a firm believer that complaining gets you nothing good in life…only people who observe your complaining and get annoyed with you.

If you don’t like something, or something doesn’t go the way you planned, don’t sit around and complain about it. Get up off your romp, and do something about it!

Being angry isn’t going to help. Mouthing off isn’t going to help. The only thing that will help your situation [usually] is if you actually try and fix it.

[*Disclaimer* sometimes situations can’t be helped. When this happens, still don’t complain. Figure out how to see the brighter side of the situation. Find the joy.]

Life is going to give us a bunch of wrong turns, a lot of hard situations, many frustrating situations, and probably a good handful of disagreements. When you come across these, don’t criticize, figure out how to be happy, how to fix it, how to make the situation right!

Life is hard. But with the right attitude, a hard situation is good, even fun.

Maybe I’m too optimistic, but I don’t think so…I think smiling is great, and laughter is better. If you can figure out how to genuinely smile and laugh at tough situations, then I believe you’re one step closer to living a life full of joy.

Please, don’t think I’m being naïve…this isn’t easy. In fact, it’s near impossible without the Holy Spirit’s help. While we might strive to live a life free of complaints on our own, we can only truly live this way if we let the Spirit lead us.

So, as you catch yourself in a not-so-grand-situation, rather than complaining, or becoming frustrated, ask God to help you find the joy in the journey. Ask Him to help you; He is there, willing and ready.

“Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” –James 1:2-4

Have you ever caught yourself complaining? Maybe you’ve become annoyed with someone else who was complaining? What did you do about it? How will you choose joy, even when it seems impossible?

One thought on “Complaining.

Thoughts

