Intriguing Contextualization


Do you ever catch yourself reading through the Bible and you get really confused? I mean, you read something and think, “That doesn’t line up with what I believe at all…” Lately this has been happening to me a lot. I think I know what that Bible says about certain issues, and then I read something in the Word that totally challenges my thoughts and beliefs.

Of course I trash my previous belief/ideas and accept this new one entirely right?

Wrong.

I can’t just throw away my beliefs that I’ve been taught, that I’ve seen before in Scripture, that the Holy Spirit has led me to through times of pouring over Scripture. I can’t just trash those beliefs/thoughts, but I also can’t just shrug off this new bit of ideology/information I’ve stumbled across.

So, what do you do?

You re-read it.

You ask the Holy Spirit to teach you what it means.

You seek out the context of what’s going on.

One of my biggest pet peeves in life is when people pull out Bible verses and force them to fit their own doctrine/beliefs. It’s degrading to the beautiful truth the Bible holds!

Sorry, I won’t rant about that now…

Anyways. We cannot make the Bible fit to our ideology. But we also can’t believe everything we hear, read, or see. We should be wise and discerning when it comes to Scripture. Ask the Holy Spirit to protect you from false teachings and ideas. When you come across something in the Bible that challenges your beliefs, have an open mind but seek out context. Be intrigued, not defensive towards this new idea. Who knows, maybe this is God’s way of showing you that your preconceived idea isn’t really Scriptural. Sometimes we believe things because they sound good. Because they make sense. Because you could see Jesus telling His Disciples that. But sometimes, these ideas really aren’t in the Bible. Sometimes ideas we have that we think are Biblical are actually only good moral standards that we [should] live our lives by.

Be aware of this. Be open to this. Be intrigued by this. And seek out truth about this (in context).

Have you ever had a moment where you’ve read something that didn’t align with your beliefs? How did you handle it? 

2 thoughts on “Intriguing Contextualization

Thoughts

