My Favorite Place on Earth


After today there will be 34 days that stand between me and my favorite place on earth.

Camp.

Camp and I go together better than cereal and milk (some might have chosen to say milk and cookies, or peanut butter and jelly, but in my opinion, cereal and milk are the two absolute best combinations under the sun). Camp is the place where I feel the most myself.

I’ve been involved with summer camps for as long as I can remember, and something that never ceases to shock me is how different I am as a camper and as a counselor.

As a camper I am my quite, introverted self. I really am an introvert posing as an extrovert. I don’t exactly enjoy huge groups of people, in fact they make me really nervous, especially if I have to talk to them…Bleh. Anyways, as a camper, I tend to be much more reserved, usually being known as the thinker of the group, the one that asks the questions…Oh yea, and I’m known as the adrenalin junky when the high ropes course stuff comes along…Me and heights, let’s just say we’re good friends.

As a counselor I am crazy and loud. It’s as if every shy bone in my body dies, and a new me comes about. But really, I just know that my job is to make sure these kids have the best experience of their life, and so I don’t have the privilege of being shy and reserved. Am I always loud, crazy and unpredictable? No. There is a time and a place for fun, but also a very important place for seriousness. Usually the dividing line is between games, competition, skits, etc, and Bible studies, morning/evening talks, and worship time. With some of these, such as worship time, there is a time for both fun and serious. During the goofy songs (Pharaoh, Pharaoh, theme song, etc) I as a counselor jump around, dancing with the kids, singing, or rather yelling, at the top of my lungs, but when the music changes to more worship-type songs, I switch gears and have an opportunity to worship my Father in front of young people. What an exciting job!

I love camp. It’s my favorite place on earth. It’s what I’d love to do for the rest of my life, in some way, shape, or fashion. What I love most about camp is the fact that I get to spend every moment of my day loving on kids. These kids come from all walks of life, both from believing homes and non-believing homes. Regardless of this, I have the wonderful privilege of loving on these kids, despite their flaws, mistakes, or backgrounds. They need to know that they are loved, unconditionally.

Sometimes it’s really difficult to love on a bunch of kids, especially when they are being brats, drama queens, and verbally “hate” every activity our cabin does. It’s at these times that I get to practice patience towards them. I get the opportunity to seek out help from my Creator when I don’t know what to do. When I feel inadequate to love them, I get to lean on my Father. He is always there, always willing and ready to help me out.

These next 34 days are going to be the longest of my life. I can scarcely wait to drive into the gates of camp, see the staff and counselors I’ve already learned to love, and get to know the ones I haven’t met yet. While I can’t wait for these 34 days to be over with, I also need to make the most of them and pour over Scripture and really prepare myself to be in a place of leadership for a bunch of kids. I need to know the Gospel in order to teach it to these kids. I need to prepare myself as I begin this journey to living in a cabin with a bunch of young girls all summer.

 “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” -2 Peter 3:16

“Preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.” -2 Peter 4:2

What’s your favorite place on earth? Where do you feel the most like yourself?

One thought on “My Favorite Place on Earth

Thoughts

