Six Teenage Girls and a Weekend Adventure


This weekend I had the opportunity to be a leader at D-now (Disciple Now) in Joplin, MO. It was truly a blessing because I really had no reason to be there. I was in no way affiliated with the church or the youth group, and I had never met the youth pastor before this weekend. It was a really neat experience and opportunity. Here’s why:

My girls, they were such a blessing. I had the older middle school girls (8th graders). The insights they had about the Scripture we were covering was both encouraging and humbling. Encouraging because they were thinking about it and responding, but humbling because I didn’t always know the answers to their questions. They have really spurred me on to know the Word more, and be ready in and out of season.

My girls were a bunch of fun, loud, burping, food-guzzling individuals. We had fun this weekend. Whether we were hanging out at our host home doing a Bible study, or in the 15-passenger van rocking out to Lecrae, we had a good time.

My co-leader, while we have very different teaching styles, we were able to relate to the girls well together. Where one of us fell short, the other was able to step in and lead. It was really encouraging. While we had some differing thoughts to some things, we were able to be patient with each other and work it out.

My host home parents were truly amazing. They provided food, entertainment, availability, a listening ear, an advising mouth, and so much wisdom. All around, I was more blessed by these complete strangers than they will ever know.

While this weekend was truly a blessing, there were definitely some frustrating moments. As I mentioned earlier, I didn’t know how to answer some of the questions the girls asked. This is frustrating for me because I take knowing the Word seriously. It’s our weapon against the enemy, and if we don’t know how to use it, then we will be defeated. I wanted to be able to answer every question perfectly, but reality check, that’s not how life works.

Something else that is always frustrating for me personally, is finding the proper balance between being the girls friend/fun initiator, and also being the leader/rule enforcer. I don’t enjoy being the bad guy, having to enforce rules like: no running around the house at 2 AM, wake up at 7:00 for Church, you get the gist. I just don’t enjoy being the bad guy. I’d much rather be the fun, happy-go-jolly leader who lets them do anything and everything they want, but that’s not beneficial for them either. So, I had to find the balance, don’t know if I did a good job, but none of them were secretly wishing an early death upon my shoulders. (I think…)

I was extremely blessed by this weekend and encouraged to go deeper in my walk. Many fun adventures were had this weekend, many exciting truths were discovered and many lessons were learned. While this is good stuff, God is really the only reason any of this happened. May God receive all the glory, forever and always.

Have you ever been a D-now leader (or a leader for something similar)? What was encouraging, or humbling for you? Have you ever been humbled by not knowing Scripture as well as you want to? I’d love to hear your thought.

Thoughts

