A Challenge.


My dad challenged me to do this today, and I thought it was brilliant. Get ready to see how much you know and don’t know about what’s in the Bible…

Ready.

Set.

GO!

Step 1. Take a blank piece of paper.

Step 2. Write down every single Bible verse you’ve ever memorized in your life. (Include Scripture references, if you don’t remember those put a question mark.)

Step 3. After you’ve put down the verses, check yourself. Go through the Bible and see if you quoted it correctly/have the reference right, etc.

Step 4. Box the references for the verses (or the question marks).

Step 5. Reflect. (See below)

Reflect:
How many verses did you put down on your piece of paper? Did you fill it up? So much so that you had to get another piece of paper? Or maybe not, maybe just a few? The “standard” Bible verses, the “if-you’ve-been-to-Sunday-school-a-few-times-you-probably-have-these-memorized” verses.

I’m not presenting this challenge to make you feel guilty. In fact, that’s the last thing I would ever wish upon you from this! I present this because it was eye opening for me. When my dad challenged me (actually, this was at the dinner table, and my mom, dad, and older brother participated) I was pretty excited. I thought, “I know a ton of verses. This is going to be great.” Was I in for a surprise.

We all grabbed napkins (seeing as we were at dinner) and when my dad said, “go” we all started writing vigorously. We had a 10-minute time frame, which is a lot honestly. Upon starting, I was doing great. But then the verses stopped coming to mind, and I realized I didn’t know as much Scripture word-for-word as I thought I did. I knew ideas, and where those ideas could be found in the Word, but I did not know the verse specifically.

It turns out I got last in the competition- My dad came in first, then my mom, then my brother, Caleb- the competitive side of me wants to say, “They’re older. They’ve had more time to memorize. Plus, my dad went to seminary, of course he won.”- But I know that’s not all true. Truth is, they understand just how important memorizing scripture is.

My dad’s challenge stemmed from the fact that he takes the verses he finds in the Bible about the importance of knowing Scripture literally and gets to work. (Some passages include: 2 Timothy 3:14-17, Hebrews 4:12 , Psalm 12:6 , Romans 15:4 , 1 Peter 3:15, Colossians 3:16 , and Proverbs 4:5-9 )

Tonight I really understood that knowing Scripture is our weapon against the Enemy. We must be ready for battle, for whatever time it comes at. (See why/how here )

Are you ready?

How did you fare with this challenge? Are you ready to partake in the battle we have raging against our souls?

Thoughts

