Deliverer


Their words, they pierce, they hurt, bruise, break and shatter
All of the things I long to do, everything has now been battered
Why is it that I do indeed,
Let these words I hear be my feed?
I can’t help it, these things that I hear
I believe, they consume, and it causes me great fear
For they are the ones, those you don’t wish to know
The ones they all say, ones formed by hatred and callousness
Never again! I will not believe
These words! No admiration only ridicule and shame
I am not their victim anymore, will not believe what they say
Again and again, Lord change their way!
I am growing weary, how much longer must I pray?
Every time, He listens deeply
I believe He whispers tenderly.
Even though my ears are not attuned
I feel His peace wash through me
“Yes, my dear one, here is your strength. Fear not for I am in this place. I am standing here now, beside you, comforting. Easing you of these lies you’ve believed, deliverer of them all.”
These are the words He says; even though I hear them not, I know they rein true.
No more bondage, no more wondering “what will become of me?”
The deliverer is here, He has directed and shone
Knowledge is here, no longer am I alone.

3 thoughts on “Deliverer

  1. enlightening ending, well expressed sentiments…

    I invite you to attend poets rally week 35, where you share your poetry and make new poetic friends…poetry awards are assigned upon completion.

    let me know when you are ready.
    Merry Christmas…
    Stay Blessed….

  2. “God is a wild man.”

    That’s a quote from this video, which you poem reminded me of:

    eXchange Festival 2010

    Good point, in your poem. In dealing with individual human beings, who are not always on their best behavior (to put it simply) it helps to have faith in an overall connection that transcends and flows through the mistakes we make in caring for each other.

    Nice write. :)

Thoughts

